E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - I'm going crazy... Why the Hell doesn't he recognize CD-Rom Drives?!?!?!?!?

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 20, 2017, 11:33:01 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Want to register? Then please don't use a Hotmail, Yahoo or Gmail address. They'll block the activation email.
Still having problems activating your account? Send an email to: EIII @ telenet.be

+  E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP
|-+  General Category
| |-+  EIII Technical Issues / Tips
| | |-+  I'm going crazy... Why the Hell doesn't he recognize CD-Rom Drives?!?!?!?!?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: I'm going crazy... Why the Hell doesn't he recognize CD-Rom Drives?!?!?!?!?  (Read 5191 times)
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 913


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« on: November 06, 2008, 10:20:57 AM »

Hi all!

I think I'm going crazy.
My EIII recognizes my Zip Drive without any problems.
It also came with a CD-Rom drive that is NOT recognized. I thought: " well, it might not be compatible, nevermind..."

A week ago, I bought a SCSI CD rom Drive that was sold as specific one for the EIII:







 - BUT - that one won't be recognized neither!!! There are lots of jumpers on the back with various adjusting possibilities etc, so I might have to play around with those a lot... but ...

is there anything basic I have to take into consideration when connecting that SCSI CDRom drive?
(as I said, the Zip Drive causes NO problems)..

Thanks in advance,
Elm.
Logged
EIIIxp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2008, 01:57:47 PM »

have you terminat it?
Logged
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 913


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2008, 02:31:20 PM »

Yes, I have,
on the upper one, on the lower one, then without terminating it, et cetera, all kinds of things...
Logged
esynthesist
E-mu Software God
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 423


« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2008, 01:57:58 PM »

Hi Elm

You shouldn't buy CD-ROM drives with so many jumpers :-)
I don't know how to solve your problem, but I can say that the "mainstream" Apple CD 300 drive works perfectly on an EIII, without having to specify any particular setting on either the EIII or the Apple (except of course termination and avoiding duplicate SCSI ID settings).
I also have a "white labeled" CD-drive labeled "CDS3200" and this one also works fine. In fact, as far as I remember all my SCSI CD-ROM drives seems to work fine on the EIII...
Of course you have to put a valid EIII cdrom in the drive before booting the EIII, if not the EIII will not mount the drive (but you can re-mount at any time via Master module). But the same is true for ZIP drives, so you probably are aware of this...

Good luck

///E-Synthesist

Logged
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 913


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2008, 10:47:59 AM »

Yeah, the jumpers look crazy, I know   Cheesy

But most of them (18 of 24) are just for terminating it. 3 of them adjust the ID, one is for "reset enable", and one for "parity enable".

I tried so many settings for now, that I think I quit trying further...
I will look for that apple drive now....    Angry

Greetz,
Elm.
Logged
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 913


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2008, 10:52:17 AM »

Is it this one you're talking about?:

http://cgi.ebay.de/Vintage-Apple-300-SCSI-External-CD-ROM-Drive-M3023_W0QQitemZ200255250119QQcmdZViewItem?hash=item200255250119&_trksid=p3286.m63.l1177
Logged
esynthesist
E-mu Software God
Sr. Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 423


« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2008, 01:17:52 PM »

Yes, that's exactly the same one as mine (M3023).
But you'll need a CD caddy !
And the price seems way over-estimated (I got mine for free  Grin )

PS: you seem to have quite of lot of music tracks created with the EIII/EII on the net, but I haven't found them yet... do you have some direct URL ??

Logged
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 913


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2008, 04:45:42 AM »

The drive with those million jumpers came with a caddy.
Well, I'll keep my eyes open for that apple drive. But that one will be my last try.
MAN I NEED TO HAVE ACCESS TO CD-ROMS WITH THAT EIII!  Cry
I still don't get it... The zip drive works so perfectly... nevermind...

Here's my page, but it's not THAT much music on it. Just a couple of tracks.
All completely E-Mu (EII, EIII, SP-12) except for the last two tracks  Tongue .

http://www.myspace.com/elmbeatz

Greetz,
Elm.
Logged
dr.c
E-mu Doctor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 903


I'm a hot dog !


« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2009, 10:50:43 AM »

Well, its just 2**24 possibilities with these jumpers... Grin

An old Apple CD rom reader works perfect. Wherer are you located ?

Logged
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 913


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2009, 03:09:21 AM »

Well, its just 2**24 possibilities with these jumpers... Grin

An old Apple CD rom reader works perfect. Wherer are you located ?



I'm in Bremen, Germany.
Logged
Oleg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #10 on: December 06, 2015, 01:02:06 PM »

Hello everybody. Do you think Apple CD600i will work with EIII ?

Cheers!
Logged

Emax II turbo, E-synth Ultra, Ultra Proteus; Kurzweil K2661S; Waldorf Microwave XT; Ensoniq SQ80; Yamaha EX5; Korg Trinity plus, Z1; Roland S-760, VP9000; Clavia Nord Lead 3.
Let's have a Black Celebration !
dr.c
E-mu Doctor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 903


I'm a hot dog !


« Reply #11 on: January 24, 2016, 01:35:39 PM »

No, try CD300
Logged
Oleg
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 12



« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2016, 07:45:30 AM »

Ok. So why did DVDBorn say, that he was using the Apple cd-rom drive from an old Power Mac 7500 ?
The link: www.eiiiforum.com/index.php?topic=15.0
I opened three macs 7500 in different second hand computers' shops and they all had Apple CD600i inside ...  Huh
« Last Edit: April 28, 2016, 08:00:31 AM by Oleg » Logged

Emax II turbo, E-synth Ultra, Ultra Proteus; Kurzweil K2661S; Waldorf Microwave XT; Ensoniq SQ80; Yamaha EX5; Korg Trinity plus, Z1; Roland S-760, VP9000; Clavia Nord Lead 3.
Let's have a Black Celebration !
dvdborn
Administrator
Full Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 236



WWW
« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2016, 04:12:47 PM »

Hard to tell why my 7500 had a different CD-ROM model. Could have been an earlier model or perhaps a difference between European and US models.
I was just sharing my experiences. Too bad you're not having any luck.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - I'm going crazy... Why the Hell doesn't he recognize CD-Rom Drives?!?!?!?!?

SEO light theme by © Mustang forums. Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines