E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - Emax and SD HxC Floppy emulator

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 17, 2017, 06:22:38 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Want to register? Then please don't use a Hotmail, Yahoo or Gmail address. They'll block the activation email.
Still having problems activating your account? Send an email to: EIII @ telenet.be

+  E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP
|-+  General Category
| |-+  Emax General Discussion
| | |-+  Emax and SD HxC Floppy emulator
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Emax and SD HxC Floppy emulator  (Read 4921 times)
juno6
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« on: October 17, 2011, 08:09:59 PM »

It works great. I boxed my HxC so I can use it with my other vintage samplers (EII+, DSS1, Mirage, etc). If anyone needs help on how to make the installation, etc, I can help.


* 166991_10150369290080990_565505989_9716899_822162203_n.jpg (69.44 KB, 717x538 - viewed 477 times.)
Logged
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 906


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2011, 06:43:20 AM »

GREAT!!!!
Logged
juno6
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2011, 12:06:39 PM »

Yesterday I did the instalation in my Mirage. It works great, much faster than the floppy drive. What a great sounding vintage sampler the Mirage is. I guess I'm going off topic.
Logged
micromoog
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 120


« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2011, 01:24:41 PM »

@juno6

Do you have some Disk images for the mirage to share?

I've a mirage here, but only about 7 (boring) factory disks and Masos. Nothing else.

Thx!
Logged
juno6
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2011, 02:34:09 PM »

@juno6

Do you have some Disk images for the mirage to share?

I've a mirage here, but only about 7 (boring) factory disks and Masos. Nothing else.

Thx!

That's a problem.  Embarrassed
My Mirage came with 3 disks... I've found a couple of disk images on the net,
I think they're on the yahoo group.
Also, this library is really good, I've tried a couple of  disk yet and they're great...
http://srpl.com/mirage/MetaScape/

Cheers!
Logged
jrb1864
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2012, 07:21:11 AM »

Can this be done on the IKE Baldwin Emax model?  There is one I want to purchase if I can either add SCSI drive, CF or SD drive, or floppy emulator.

What out of all these options is the easiest and most reliable with decent load/save speeds?

Thank you!
Logged
juno6
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2012, 08:19:21 AM »

I have an HD model... It's way faster than HxC, but only 20megs instead of up to 16 gigas IIRC...
Logged
jrb1864
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2012, 02:03:53 PM »

Is this version (Baldwin IKE) able to take an internal HD?

I'm thinking the floppy emulator or a SCSI drive would be my options.  Just not sure.  Anyone with insight?

Logged
iloveemus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2013, 11:02:58 AM »

It works great. I boxed my HxC so I can use it with my other vintage samplers (EII+, DSS1, Mirage, etc). If anyone needs help on how to make the installation, etc, I can help.


hi what is the black panel on the front of your emax, and how would I be able to build one like it or was it ready made?

can you give more details please.

Logged
juno6
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2013, 03:27:33 PM »

It works great. I boxed my HxC so I can use it with my other vintage samplers (EII+, DSS1, Mirage, etc). If anyone needs help on how to make the installation, etc, I can help.


hi what is the black panel on the front of your emax, and how would I be able to build one like it or was it ready made?

can you give more details please.



Sure... I made them myself...  In fact I found a big plastic... sheet? and I cuted it and punched it to put all the connectors inside. You have to make your own ribbon cables yourself... itīs easy... basically an extension from the mother to the panel that goes where there was a floppy drive. You need to buy some ribbon cable, the male adaptor for the front, a female for the mother (IIRC)... and the adaptor for the power (that depends on which adaptor type you prefer).
Itīll take a couple of hours.
Logged
iloveemus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


« Reply #10 on: May 24, 2013, 04:30:43 PM »

Fantastic,

thank you for the information



would a 34 pin work like the above?

or would I need to find something that would be able to attach to the plastic surrounding?

so are you using a 34 pin cable from front panel to hxc? so motherboard>connector (shown above) 34 pin  cable from connector to hxc?

that correct?

Thanks once again

Logged
juno6
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2013, 07:44:30 PM »

Fantastic,

thank you for the information



would a 34 pin work like the above?

or would I need to find something that would be able to attach to the plastic surrounding?

so are you using a 34 pin cable from front panel to hxc? so motherboard>connector (shown above) 34 pin  cable from connector to hxc?

that correct?

Thanks once again



I wouldnīt recomend those adaptors... those are for inserting on a board... if you look at the other side, thereīs no way to catch a cable or another adaptor...
Hereīs what I use...
(pics attached)
Logged
juno6
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2013, 07:53:25 PM »

Pics...


* ficha1b.jpg (51.01 KB, 490x367 - viewed 221 times.)

* ficha2b.jpg (43.3 KB, 490x367 - viewed 237 times.)

* ficha3b.jpg (56.11 KB, 490x367 - viewed 232 times.)
Logged
ShortwaveMystery
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #13 on: November 06, 2013, 12:39:19 PM »

This is all very cool...which HxC unit from Lotharek did you purchase..could you please link to the model that you purchased? Would love to set my Emax up like this...
Also, would a simple Standard Male to Female floppy IDE cable work as opposed to having
to 'fab' one like you did? I am not very good with my old eyes at getting all those little pins lined up just perfectly and would rather have one already made from the factory.
If so, what length would we need and the pin number configuration (Ie 68 pin or?)
Thanks!
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - Emax and SD HxC Floppy emulator

SEO light theme by © Mustang forums. Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines