E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - SAMPLE Guitar Harmonics

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 18, 2024, 04:19:37 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Problems registering? Send an email to: EIII @ telenet.be (without the spaces)

+  E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP
|-+  General Category
| |-+  EIII General Discussion
| | |-+  SAMPLE Guitar Harmonics
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: SAMPLE Guitar Harmonics  (Read 3102 times)
PerformanceJames

« on: January 26, 2012, 01:41:17 AM »

Hi I am an art rock guitarist and I'd like to get your opinion regarding something I'm working on. Anyone familiar with the guitar symphoniesof glenn branca or rhys chatham should have a good idea of what I am trying to do. Basically I am tuning my guitars to a single note and either hitting a harmonic to make a chiming sound or creating a drone. I'll be going to a nice recording studio in a large room and record the respective sounds. basically I'd like to know if the emulator III would be a good way to go.  thanks.
seamonkey
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2012, 08:38:37 AM »

Hi James, welcome.
I would think any one of the E-mu samplers would do the job for you. Of course the EIII with it's delicious CEM analog filters would do the job(although I am unfamiliar with the music you mention). I'm only commenting on the sampling part.
I also love the sound of the Emulator II and the Emax.
The EIII was the top of the line and sampled aat 16bits. If you want something a bit grittier, than the Emax is 12bit and the EII is 8bit(The EII samples at 12-bit resolution, but stores the samples into memory (and disk) as 8-bits)*(from the Emulator Archive)
Hope that helps.

Detailed info can be found here:
http://emulatorarchive.com/Samplers/samplers.html
Elmbeatz

Official E-Mu Addict

« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2012, 09:26:37 AM »