E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - New EIII Owner! Stereo outs not working

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 18, 2018, 07:10:41 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Want to register? Then please don't use a Hotmail, Yahoo or Gmail address. They'll block the activation email.
Still having problems activating your account? Send an email to: EIII @ telenet.be

+  E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP
|-+  General Category
| |-+  EIII Technical Issues / Tips
| | |-+  New EIII Owner! Stereo outs not working
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: New EIII Owner! Stereo outs not working  (Read 1215 times)
80sboy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 61


« on: April 02, 2012, 10:56:46 PM »

Against the advice of my local tech (Hey Chris!) I went ahead and did a trade for an EIII keyboard, in non-working stated condition. The trade was financially amicable for both parties which is always nice. I always like a straight trade. So.....

   When I got it the seller and I checked it out and it basically was just powering up with random LED's and black squares on the display. Got it home  - made dinner, fed the kids, had a beer and promptly fell asleep on the couch.

  Exciting stuff I know, but I'm getting to the even better part. Kids to bed, screwdriver in hand I proceeded to open up the EIII, go through all the cables etc...reseated some stuff, discovered a broken pin on a header to the mod wheel, but otherwise very very clean inside. Powered it on and off a few times and, lo and behold, it powered up! The seller had made me a floppy of the OS from his working EIII (he had purchased this EIII as a backup) and I got it to boot up from the floppy, then after a few minutes of jumping up and down and trying to explain to my wife why this was the coolest thing to happen tome today, I got it to boot up from the internal 320meg conner drive. yeah! Exciting stuff....bunch of great sounds installed...

   So, problems....stereo outs are not working. Individual outs are. Things to look for?Easy(ish) fix? Have to fix the header pin for the mod wheel.

     Since I have it open, what are the things to look for? I'm going to fix the header pin, check the voltages on the power supply and check all connections. I purchased an acard scsi to ide converter to pop in a CF card eventually.

  Anyways, thanks to my tech for trying to save my marriage and keep me from getting another boat anchor (how's the rev 1 EII coming along?)
; )

  I just had a gut feeling from talking to the owner that this one could be fixed. The trade was very good for me financially if it worked and I felt like I could get my money back if it didn't by breaking it for parts.

  Thanks!

tom


edit: Stereo outs working! 5v rail was running about 4.5, brought it up to 5.05 and now the stereo outs are working. Glad I checked before I ran a wire to IC3. Amazing sounding sampler!
« Last Edit: April 04, 2012, 02:53:34 PM by dvdborn » Logged
Zomnius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 77


« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2012, 01:05:03 PM »

so waht did you really do to improve you're EIII?

- you improved railpower to 5,05 from 4,5 how did you do this?
- switching couple times on and off a couple of times, and then it started from the HD? This is not likely to be very reliable, or did it improve after fixing the psu?

Please tell me (us) more about the routing you folowed.

thx!!


I now have to fix 2 of these beasts...
Logged
80sboy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 61


« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2012, 10:46:37 PM »

Yes, I improved the rail with the trim pot in the power supply while reading from the yellow wire. I think for me, just the act of moving it around from my car to home was enough to sort of jiggle it close enough to get it to power up, but it was not powering up reliably.

 After making sure that the 5v rail was a true 5.05 (and I've since re-measured and it's solid) it has had ZERO problems. I've also installed a CF card internally and that works great now. It took ALOT of backand forth with different cards etc, but it's working solid.

  FIrst thing I would do to ANY EIII is take a reading on the 5v rail. It was the only problem on this machine.

Best

80sboy
Tom
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - New EIII Owner! Stereo outs not working

SEO light theme by © Mustang forums. Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines