E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - EIII Memory max?

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
January 18, 2018, 07:07:08 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Want to register? Then please don't use a Hotmail, Yahoo or Gmail address. They'll block the activation email.
Still having problems activating your account? Send an email to: EIII @ telenet.be

+  E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP
|-+  General Category
| |-+  EIII Technical Issues / Tips
| | |-+  EIII Memory max?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: EIII Memory max?  (Read 1639 times)
80sboy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 61


« on: April 07, 2012, 03:23:28 PM »

Sorry if this has been touched on before, but I read through all the forums and googled everything I could think of before asking this..

  Is 8mb REALLY the max that an EIII can use? There are 2mb and 4mb 30pinn simms out there, i just can't find any info as to wether or not the Pal chips can recognize more than 1mb simms.

  Anyone expanded their EIII beyond 8mb?

 Thanks!

80sboy
tom
Logged
lubb
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 204


« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 12:52:21 PM »

The max. memory of an EIII is 8MB...

32 voices and 16 MB of sample RAM were announced in adverts in May 1988, but these upgrades never materialised.
Logged
powmax
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 20


« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2013, 03:08:25 PM »

and a point of fact you can actually put 16 megs in an EIII, if you happened to have gotten the proper (last) firmware chip from e-mu when they were still in business before the ensoniq buyout. a friend has one that i helped him boost to 16 megs you just need to source 4 meg 30 pin simms...

Could this be true or did he meant the EIII(x) Huh
Logged
jazzyjoepass
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2013, 04:47:07 PM »

I'd like to know too. I've got an 8Mb EIII and I still have spare RAM slots.

Logged
dr.c
E-mu Doctor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 906


I'm a hot dog !


« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2013, 07:39:16 PM »

Never heard about this... I always got told that the microcontroler board couls handle ony 8 megs
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - EIII Memory max?

SEO light theme by © Mustang forums. Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines