E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - Any Free Piano Disks?

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 16, 2017, 05:19:41 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Want to register? Then please don't use a Hotmail, Yahoo or Gmail address. They'll block the activation email.
Still having problems activating your account? Send an email to: EIII @ telenet.be

+  E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP
|-+  General Category
| |-+  Emax General Discussion
| | |-+  Any Free Piano Disks?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Any Free Piano Disks?  (Read 3973 times)
ensoniqman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


'Isms' are not good


« on: October 31, 2013, 03:54:20 PM »

Hello -

New to forum here.  Used to have Ensoniq keyboards...now using an Emax SE.

I bought it recently used from a college student.  Works fine, but I am limited on disks for sounds.  Bought a Zip100 drive, but it doesn't seem to work with the SCSI. Tried another drive (Syquest) also not working with with this SCSI.

So I bought some more floppies from Greytsounds.  Good stuff, but NO Piano sounds included.


My question:  can anyone pass along one free floppy disk of a Piano?  I am dying over here with no piano sounds on my Emax.


ensoniqman
email:  gloraditch@srcity.org
Logged
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 913


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2013, 03:00:02 AM »

Hi!

IF you have a PC with a built in 3.5 Floppy drive (no USB floppy drive), you HAVE TO install the free programs "EMXP", as well as "omniflop".

With both these tools, you can transfer emax disk image files (1000s of those can be found for download in the web) to blank 3.5 disks. (EMXP can do a LOT more than just that...)

Hope that helps.

Greetz,
Elm.
Logged
kdk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 76


« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2013, 08:40:07 AM »

And once you have a PC/floppy system with EMXP, then you can go here:
http://www.hermannseib.com/english/synths/emax/banks.htm
 and make your own floppies.

Kirk
Logged
ensoniqman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


'Isms' are not good


« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2013, 11:28:48 AM »

Unfortunately, our PC at home does not have a floppy disk...as it is a newer machine.
Logged
seamonkey
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129


« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2013, 01:18:04 PM »

Your Zip 100 drive should be set to 5. Hold the transpose button and it will read 0, enter the number 5 and then try it.
I assume you have the Emax SE Plus model since it has the SCSI connector, right?

When I use mine, I have to have a disk in the floppy drive. I believe you need the Plus OS disk for it to work, or a disk of sounds that has that OS on it.

Also you might want one of these. http://www.ebay.com/itm/3-5-External-USB-2-0-Portable-1-44Mb-Floppy-Disk-Drive-Diskette-FDD-Laptop-PC-/271140114450?pt=US_Floppy_Zip_Jaz_Drives&hash=item3f2135d012
« Last Edit: November 05, 2013, 03:48:02 PM by seamonkey » Logged
ensoniqman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


'Isms' are not good


« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2013, 04:15:05 PM »

Ok, thank you.  I will try that option with the zip Drive.
Logged
ensoniqman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


'Isms' are not good


« Reply #6 on: November 06, 2013, 08:47:36 AM »

By the way, using the 'Transpose' button while booting up only asks for a key from the keyboard itself...not asking for a number like 0. Still not recognizing any SCSI drive.

Tried it over and over...it never asks for a number, just wants to transpose a sound to a different key octave.


Any ideas?  I'm at a loss........
Logged
kdk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 76


« Reply #7 on: November 06, 2013, 12:26:20 PM »

Have you looked at this?

http://www.cyborgstudio.com/samplersmp3s/emu/emax/manual/emaxSCSIinterfaceinstructions.pdf

Make sure the Zip Drive is a SCSI and not a Parallel Port model.
Logged
ensoniqman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


'Isms' are not good


« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2013, 06:09:10 PM »

Yep...I downloaded those very instructions 3 weeks ago, and still no luck.

It is definitely a SCSI port and cable....not a parallel.


EM
Logged
seamonkey
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129


« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2013, 09:48:54 AM »

Several things to try, be patient we'll figure it out. It's frustrating I know, but it ain't rocket science. lol

Mine is out of my studio right now and stored in the bedroom, so I'm going by memory.
the Zip Drive must be on when starting up the Emax.
Be certain there is a zip cart in the zip and there must be a floppy in the floppy drive with the OS on it.Don't hold the transpose button down while it's booting up, wait until the Emax is done booting up.

Once it's done loading, then push the transpose button and hold, the menu should read SCSI ID: 0.
Then while still holding down transpose enter 5.(Make certain the back of your zip drive is set to 5.

If you don't get the SCSI ID: message then you need the Emax Plus 1.0 OS disk.
Logged
ensoniqman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


'Isms' are not good


« Reply #10 on: November 07, 2013, 12:28:04 PM »

thanks for the help, Seamonkey.

I tried the procedures you recommended and still no luck.

Recently, I upgraded the OS to the more recent 3.2 disk (bought from Ebay).


I think that I still have the older original OS disk somewhere, but I remember also trying to set up the Zip drive with the old OS.  Didn't work, upgraded to 3.2 and still didn't work.


I'll keep trying.


EM
 
Logged
seamonkey
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129


« Reply #11 on: November 07, 2013, 12:30:21 PM »

I think you need the OS PLus disk. That's what I've got. And the disk from the guy I bought it from had Emax SE Plus 1.0 on it.

If I use a regular Emax disk, it will not let the SCSI work.

Any Emax Plus owners who can verify this?
Logged
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 913


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« Reply #12 on: November 07, 2013, 01:10:07 PM »

on the emxp site, you can download ALL different emax OS disk images to try that out.
Still, a pc with built in floppy drive is needed for this.
Logged
ensoniqman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7


'Isms' are not good


« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2013, 08:49:07 AM »

seamonkey -


Thanks for your info.  Got your mail & have it all working now...must have been an OS issue with the SE version like you said; it now shows SCSI on the Transpose button display, unlike before.

All disks backed up & converted onto the IOmega Zip drive.


Thanks again!


EM
« Last Edit: November 13, 2013, 08:52:02 AM by ensoniqman » Logged
seamonkey
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 129


« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2013, 11:50:37 AM »

You are welcome my friend.
This is what the community is about, helping one another, sharing info, sounds, etc.
Makes me happy there is one more Emax out there being played and enjoyed.

Thank you for your appreciation and comments. Smiley
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - Any Free Piano Disks?

SEO light theme by © Mustang forums. Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines