E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - EII "Exact Replacement" display

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 22, 2017, 01:22:38 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Want to register? Then please don't use a Hotmail, Yahoo or Gmail address. They'll block the activation email.
Still having problems activating your account? Send an email to: EIII @ telenet.be

+  E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP
|-+  General Category
| |-+  EII Technical Issues / Tips
| | |-+  EII "Exact Replacement" display
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: EII "Exact Replacement" display  (Read 4644 times)
kdk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 76


« on: May 20, 2014, 07:18:27 AM »

Has anyone tried one of these? Any issues with the install?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Emu-E-mu-SP-1200-SP1200-Emulator-II-2-Vintage-Sampler-OEM-REPLACEMENT-DISPLAY-/121335622799?&_trksid=p2056016.m2518.l4276

Thanks!
Logged
M.
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 18


« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2014, 01:10:00 PM »

No, don't do that!

I don't understand why people always fall for those offers. Those prices are total rip-off, as these displays are standart displays. Any 16x2 3€ will work!
Logged
lunatic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 108



WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2014, 07:04:43 AM »

What M. says. Those prices are ripp offs. The new displays are pin compatible with the old ones so most 16x2 displays will work. You just need to pull 5V from somewhere on the mainboard for the backlight. Also you can get rid off the inverter!
Logged

E-mu Emulator II + HD, E-mu EMAX, E-mu SP-12, E-mu Esi 32, Dynacord ADD-one + ADD-drive, Simmons Clap Trap, Moog Slim Phatty, Juno 106, OB Matrix 6R, OTO Biscuit
kdk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 76


« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2014, 09:04:59 AM »

Thanks for the replies!

Any suggested modules you all can recommend?
Logged
logiclust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 36


i like toast


WWW
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2014, 08:03:13 PM »

I just finished outfitting mine with a NHD-0216BZ-YBW from Newhaven Display. ($10us direct www.newhavendisplay.com). I also got a 1x16 IDC Interface Cable ($5.5us) because I'm lazy. I put header pins on both the display and the eii's board so this is removable. I pulled the +5v and ground from where the inverter was. The only weird thing I had to do was to swap the hex inverter IC in C25 with an LS because some of the character's were wonky.  oh, I also had to add larger spacers as the display sits higher from the board and also switched to #3 hardware (screws) since the OEM felt too snug.
Logged

EII, E4k, E4XT, Darwin
who
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 192


« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2014, 08:35:57 PM »

Pictures or it didn't happen Grin
Logged
logiclust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 36


i like toast


WWW
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2014, 09:28:17 PM »

i've been holding out because the thing isn't complete yet… wanted it to be a surprise and all…
here


* chupacabra-picture.jpg (18.33 KB, 400x291 - viewed 259 times.)
Logged

EII, E4k, E4XT, Darwin
logiclust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 36


i like toast


WWW
« Reply #7 on: June 04, 2014, 09:30:30 PM »

oops


* IMG_0057.jpg (1850.9 KB, 2448x2832 - viewed 554 times.)
Logged

EII, E4k, E4XT, Darwin
logiclust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 36


i like toast


WWW
« Reply #8 on: June 04, 2014, 09:32:51 PM »

and


* IMG_0060.JPG (2035.63 KB, 2901x2448 - viewed 405 times.)
Logged

EII, E4k, E4XT, Darwin
logiclust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 36


i like toast


WWW
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2014, 09:34:26 PM »

and IC25


* IMG_0043.jpg (1514.8 KB, 2448x2031 - viewed 456 times.)
Logged

EII, E4k, E4XT, Darwin
lunatic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 108



WWW
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2014, 03:36:47 AM »

Did that yesterday and used the cheapest display from ebay (blue with white characters). Thanks for the tip with the hex inverter i had to change that too. Also inserted a 10k trimpot on line 3 for the contrast (thanks to Roginator). Works perfect now Smiley

Next thing is to get rid of the noisy miniscribe HDD.
Logged

E-mu Emulator II + HD, E-mu EMAX, E-mu SP-12, E-mu Esi 32, Dynacord ADD-one + ADD-drive, Simmons Clap Trap, Moog Slim Phatty, Juno 106, OB Matrix 6R, OTO Biscuit
ifiwasyouillhelp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2015, 09:17:48 AM »

Hi can you please explain what a ls chip is and where you acquired one?

i have a emax oled install and the characters are all messed up shortly after the welcome screen.

Lunatic suggested i swap the inverter with a ls chip.

also is the picture i attached accurate?

is the chip on the front display board the hex inverter?



* logic chip.dib (270.34 KB, 1313x1025 - viewed 247 times.)
Logged
logiclust
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 36


i like toast


WWW
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2016, 11:32:44 AM »

sorry for the way delayed response. The chip I swapped in is the 74LS04N. I have a few dozen random logic chips around from my college EE days so i'm not sure where you'd pick one up. however i bet they're common enough. Can't advise you about the emax unfortunately.
Logged

EII, E4k, E4XT, Darwin
This is not America
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 51

Sp 12 turbo / Emu II /


« Reply #13 on: September 01, 2016, 12:47:16 PM »

Hy, i've got a strange anomalie with my LCD and inverter. That began to pull my mind over.
Messages boot in progress , insert disk, this Will take à Will are good. But when i start to use the EII characters start to be mad mad.
I've tried Motorola and Texas inverter 74ls04N and Hd74ls04n(witch never works).
Do you already have an issue? Cry
Logged

Sp 12 turbo / Emu II / Mac se30 / dx7/ mininova / Prophet 600/ you kou lay lay
lunatic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 108



WWW
« Reply #14 on: September 04, 2016, 11:01:22 AM »

Ok, so I have found the part numbers. I had some gibberish on my display at first too. Actually though changing the hex inverter to the Texas Instruments type you have installed did the trick. The one that was installed in my EII before was also a TI one, this: CD74HCT04E.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2017, 09:44:35 AM by lunatic » Logged

E-mu Emulator II + HD, E-mu EMAX, E-mu SP-12, E-mu Esi 32, Dynacord ADD-one + ADD-drive, Simmons Clap Trap, Moog Slim Phatty, Juno 106, OB Matrix 6R, OTO Biscuit
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - EII "Exact Replacement" display

SEO light theme by © Mustang forums. Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines