E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - SCSI to USB for Mac OS E3 Editor

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 27, 2017, 08:34:27 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Want to register? Then please don't use a Hotmail, Yahoo or Gmail address. They'll block the activation email.
Still having problems activating your account? Send an email to: EIII @ telenet.be

+  E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP
|-+  General Category
| |-+  EIII General Discussion
| | |-+  SCSI to USB for Mac OS E3 Editor
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Print
Author Topic: SCSI to USB for Mac OS E3 Editor  (Read 940 times)
Schnooker
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« on: October 03, 2016, 09:45:28 AM »

Hello.

Please pardon my lack of knowledge, but is it possible for me to use the Mac OS Editor for my E3 via a SCSI to USB cable?

I don't know how to connect the two machines.

Any help would be wonderful!

Many thanks.
Stpehen
Logged
Schnooker
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2016, 02:57:36 PM »

13 views and no replies..

C'mon guys - any help with this would be really appreciated!

Stephen
Logged
Wolfram
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2016, 03:42:55 AM »

No, it doesn't work.
Logged
Schnooker
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2016, 04:54:49 AM »

Thank you Wolfman for your reply, but could you tell me how to actually connect the two together?
Logged
Wolfram
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


« Reply #4 on: October 05, 2016, 08:10:06 AM »

The only way to connect a modern computer to the EIII is MIDI.
There was never a program for RS422 communication and SCSI communication is only supported by Mac OS classic programs.
Logged
Schnooker
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« Reply #5 on: October 05, 2016, 09:49:32 AM »

Hello, sir, and thank you again for your reply, however, I'm not sure we're on the same page here. I'm trying to use this editor http://eiiiforum.com/index.php?topic=2694.0 on my iMac to connect to my E3k to enable me use my iMac's screen for editing, as opposed to the little screen on the actual E3 - my eyesight is terrible and I'd love to be able to edit the E3 via the above linked OSX editor, but I don't know how to connect the two machines together.

I hope this helps?

Stephen
Logged
Wolfram
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2016, 01:34:56 AM »

MIDI !!!
Logged
Schnooker
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 21


« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2016, 09:09:23 AM »

Ahh, ok, I think I'm now on your page. Thank you..
Logged
Syncla
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 86


my beloved


« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2016, 10:14:42 AM »

or you buy an older Mac ( SE or powermac with serial ports) sometimes i had my E III k on a special port on my PowerMac G 4 Mirrordoor. Than you can use SoundDesigner or Alchemy or other older Progs.

Im looking for an RS 422 to USB option too, in fact that i just bought an Emax SE Plus.



If you find a solution, please tell me.


Logged

The only Answer for all questions is: Emulator

 E III Kb ; E IV XT ULTRA ; E-Synth Rack; Emax SE Plus Kb
Wolfram
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2016, 12:38:24 PM »

As I sayed, the only way is MIDI.

Syncla, what you did is using the serial port as I/O port but the protocol was MIDI.
So it is very slow for sample editing.
For removing the EIII it is ok and this is what the new remote software does.

All Sample editors used SCSI for sample dump on a EIII. But nobody has the protocol anymore.
So there is no way to build a program for this on modern systems.
Logged
dr.c
E-mu Doctor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 901


I'm a hot dog !


« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2016, 03:01:37 AM »

What about "Alchemy" ?
Logged
Wolfram
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


« Reply #11 on: October 08, 2016, 05:04:13 AM »

What about "Alchemy" ?
On old (classic) Macs it is no problem to use SCSI and Alchemy works fine, but on modern (OSX) no way.
Logged
dr.c
E-mu Doctor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 901


I'm a hot dog !


« Reply #12 on: October 08, 2016, 10:59:08 AM »

I bought a Mini Mac PPC (20 Euros) in wich I've put an SSD and 10.4.11 wich allows to use Alchemy.
Logged
wirefall
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #13 on: October 19, 2016, 01:35:51 PM »

What about "Alchemy" ?

My setup: Old PPC 9600 with G4 and USB card > USB to SCSI Converter > SCSI cable > EIII

Works with Alchemy  Grin
Logged
Syncla
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 86


my beloved


« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2017, 12:17:39 AM »

Hi wirefall,

which SCSI to USB converter do you use? Still have my G 4 Mirrordoor.
Logged

The only Answer for all questions is: Emulator

 E III Kb ; E IV XT ULTRA ; E-Synth Rack; Emax SE Plus Kb
Pages: [1] 2 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - SCSI to USB for Mac OS E3 Editor

SEO light theme by © Mustang forums. Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines