E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - EII Cleaning Front Panels

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
March 28, 2024, 04:50:29 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Problems registering? Send an email to: EIII @ telenet.be (without the spaces)

+  E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP
|-+  General Category
| |-+  EII General Discussion
| | |-+  EII Cleaning Front Panels
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: EII Cleaning Front Panels  (Read 3922 times)
Paisley

« on: December 10, 2016, 07:07:14 AM »

Hi all, newbie here.  Always been a huge fan of the Emulators, and have recently acquired an EII; albeit one that requires a bit of TLC. Probably not going to be a project for the faint hearted, as it hasn't been used for 15 years & comes with no disks whatsoever; however it'll be well worth it if I can restore it to its former glory.
It does power up, although somewhere along the line when I was transporting it home, the fuse cap went missing - and believe it or not, finding a replacement cap in Australia has proven just about impossible!  At present I'm waiting for a new cap as well as a memory test disk to come from the US, so the project is on hold at the moment.

One thing I am looking to work on in the meantime is the front panels. There's an unusual discoulration on both the front panel & the data wheel panel; it almost looks like water damage (which I hope it isn't). I haven't been able to trawl up much information on the cosmetics of Emulator panels, so I'm not sure if this is a common thing that happens with them or not.