E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - Emulator II+: new display problem

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 27, 2017, 01:41:36 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Want to register? Then please don't use a Hotmail, Yahoo or Gmail address. They'll block the activation email.
Still having problems activating your account? Send an email to: EIII @ telenet.be

+  E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP
|-+  General Category
| |-+  EII Technical Issues / Tips
| | |-+  Emulator II+: new display problem
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Emulator II+: new display problem  (Read 617 times)
cowboy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« on: January 23, 2017, 01:51:42 PM »

Hello, I've just upgraded my EII+ with a Lotharek Drive and a new display (MIDAS MC21605A6WD-BNMLW). I've also replaced the IC25 with a SN74LS04N Hex Inverter, but the screen often shows strange character sequences.... Huh  Any ideas? Thanks for your support!!!


* IMG_2790.JPG (604.17 KB, 2016x1512 - viewed 21 times.)

* IMG_2789.JPG (695 KB, 2016x1512 - viewed 24 times.)
Logged

Emulator II+, EIII, EMAX
dr.c
E-mu Doctor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 901


I'm a hot dog !


« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2017, 02:15:21 PM »

One first rule is to never, when possible, change a few components at a time.
For example, change the drive first, and see how it works, etc..., otherways you will never know what's wrong !
Logged
Wolfram
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2017, 02:34:54 PM »

And check the order of the Display connection.
Logged
This is not America
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 51

Sp 12 turbo / Emu II /


« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2017, 12:51:34 AM »

I have thé same issue with LS, SN etc.

I've just replaced thé PSU, wondering if it Will work with a good 5v adress?

I Will check and test with thé midas screen.

Logged

Sp 12 turbo / Emu II / Mac se30 / dx7/ mininova / Prophet 600/ you kou lay lay
This is not America
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 51

Sp 12 turbo / Emu II /


« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2017, 08:34:36 AM »

Sorry, the midas screen is always mad
Logged

Sp 12 turbo / Emu II / Mac se30 / dx7/ mininova / Prophet 600/ you kou lay lay
cowboy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2017, 09:11:34 AM »

Thanks for your feedback. Can you recommend a display?
Logged

Emulator II+, EIII, EMAX
alka
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 31


WWW
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2017, 06:24:09 PM »

I am using this Midas display with no trouble. Perhaps you have an issue in your Scanner circuit - I've had similar issues with odd characters but it was tracked to a bad IC. I forget which one at the moment... will look when I get a chance.
Logged

HideawayStudio
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 65


Hideaway Studio


WWW
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2017, 01:11:16 AM »

Sorry, the midas screen is always mad

Might be worth trying my usual mod for new displays on EII....  (I'm not saying it will work in your case but its worth a try)

This is actually a common issue which I've reported a fix I came up with before but perhaps not on this site.

The LCD timing on the EII is marginal and although it just about works with older HD44780 compliant LCD modules, many of the modern equivalents have faster timings. 

This often manifests itself by showing nothing, a solid bar or garbled characters on the bottom line of the display.  The top line is always fine with a new display fitted.

The fix I came up with several years ago has helped a number of other owners to make their new displays work so this is definitely worth a try....

FIX: Solder 4.7NF metal film capacitor between pin 1 (Ground) and pin 6 (Module Enable) on the LCD module header.

This works by slightly lengthening the Enable pulse to the display.
Logged

EII+, EIIIXP, EMAX II Turbo.  Electronic Design Engineer and Collector/Restorer of Vintage Music Gear
Kalem
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2017, 09:35:37 AM »

And check the order of the Display connection.

Yep always check the order first.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - Emulator II+: new display problem

SEO light theme by © Mustang forums. Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines