E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - Emulator II: Supply Rails and PSU Harness Colour Codes

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 20, 2017, 09:30:48 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Want to register? Then please don't use a Hotmail, Yahoo or Gmail address. They'll block the activation email.
Still having problems activating your account? Send an email to: EIII @ telenet.be

+  E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP
|-+  General Category
| |-+  EII Technical Issues / Tips
| | |-+  Emulator II: Supply Rails and PSU Harness Colour Codes
« previous next »
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 Print
Author Topic: Emulator II: Supply Rails and PSU Harness Colour Codes  (Read 16601 times)
HideawayStudio
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 65


Hideaway Studio


WWW
« Reply #15 on: June 13, 2012, 01:15:07 PM »

I make the test of tension of power supply
If I test it to the outside of the box
I am forced to disconnect the two connectors Voltage 110/220
What is the voltage in this case the original that I must provide 220v/110v
I think my Emulator II + original EUROPEAN

When the two wires to the 110/220 selector switch are disconnected, the PSU is setup for 220V operation.
Logged

EII+, EIIIXP, EMAX II Turbo.  Electronic Design Engineer and Collector/Restorer of Vintage Music Gear
dr.c
E-mu Doctor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 902


I'm a hot dog !


« Reply #16 on: July 12, 2012, 05:09:21 AM »

False, it explodes !

Too bad...
Logged
HideawayStudio
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 65


Hideaway Studio


WWW
« Reply #17 on: July 19, 2012, 12:51:09 PM »

False, it explodes !

Too bad...

What??  The PSU is without question set to 240V with the voltage selector wiring removed - mind you - I have to admit those EII PSUs have a habit of going up just looking at them - they're 'orrible!!
Logged

EII+, EIIIXP, EMAX II Turbo.  Electronic Design Engineer and Collector/Restorer of Vintage Music Gear
DARKSHINE
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 38


« Reply #18 on: December 28, 2012, 11:05:50 AM »

I find this:   http://www.synther.org/emulator2.html

a new power supply with a fan     ! ! ! ! !

If you find the model which was used to make

I read   T-...   ?
Logged
ddvdave
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 65



« Reply #19 on: February 05, 2013, 07:10:08 PM »


I think I found it -- it looks like it's a MW (MeanWell) T-60C.

See here:

http://www.meanwell.com/search/T-60/T-60-spec.pdf

-Dave
« Last Edit: February 06, 2013, 10:41:53 PM by ddvdave » Logged
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 906


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« Reply #20 on: March 26, 2013, 04:26:35 AM »

Cool!

Can someone tell the difference between T60-C and T60-A ?

EDIT: Sorry, found it.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2013, 04:29:10 AM by Elmbeatz » Logged
who
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 189


« Reply #21 on: April 03, 2013, 06:45:55 AM »

I reached out to Carlos, the Technician who performed the power supply replacement mentioned here:

http://www.synther.org/emulator2.html

He shared the following info with me:

The EII in my website is not mine, it was a repair for a customer, the same than the other machines listed.

"I installed a "Mean Well T-60C" (http://eu.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Mean-Well/T-60C/?qs=V9a8iPeg90zlDGU%252btuqvCw==),
which generates 5V at 5Amps, +15V at 2Amps and -15V at 0.2Amp. This requirements are very basic in switching PSU's, you will easyly find a PSU with that power and voltage arrangements. This one was about 50 in the shop I bought it.

The replacement is straight forward but you may have to make new holes in the subchassis for attaching the new PSU.

The connections depend on the PSU you use, but generally they are screw terminals.

Feel free to copy this text in the thread

Best regards,
Carlos."
Logged
kdk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 76


« Reply #22 on: April 03, 2013, 09:39:57 AM »

I installed a Meanwell T-60C and it appears to be working well. I don't have any floppy drive in it, just a HxC Rev. F, so I don't need a 12V supply line.

I think the price for the PSU is about $35 plus shipping from Jameco.com.
Logged
who
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 189


« Reply #23 on: April 06, 2013, 08:09:24 PM »

I just installed a T-60C in my EII and all of the problems appear to have gone away.  Thanks to Carlos and others for their help!

(One of the strangest problems was with the first fader/slider:  The effective range kept getting shorter and shorter.  I bought replacement sliders, but no need to install them now.  Update:  I was wrong, the slider started acting up again, but all the other problems have gone away since installing the new power supply.)
« Last Edit: April 20, 2013, 03:10:04 PM by who » Logged
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 906


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« Reply #24 on: April 16, 2013, 01:41:25 AM »

Would a MeanWell T40-C also work?

Greetz,
Elm.
Logged
lunatic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 104



WWW
« Reply #25 on: April 16, 2013, 05:58:05 AM »

The T40-C might not have enough WATT to power the EII. T-60c supplies 62.5W, the T-40c only 40W...
Logged

E-mu Emulator II + HD, E-mu EMAX, E-mu SP-12, E-mu Esi 32, Dynacord ADD-one + ADD-drive, Simmons Clap Trap, Moog Slim Phatty, Juno 106, OB Matrix 6R, OTO Biscuit
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 906


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« Reply #26 on: April 16, 2013, 06:55:03 AM »

Thanks for replying!

The T40-C might not have enough WATT to power the EII...

Is that for sure?

May I try it out nevertheless without harming the baby?
Logged
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 906


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« Reply #27 on: April 17, 2013, 01:41:34 AM »

Anybody?

Dr. C ?    Embarrassed
Logged
kdk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 76


« Reply #28 on: April 18, 2013, 06:58:18 AM »

The T40-C might not have enough WATT to power the EII. T-60c supplies 62.5W, the T-40c only 40W...

I just powered up my EII with the Meanwell T-60C PSU in it and it draws 48-50 Watts. That's with a HxC and no Floppy or hard drive in it.

The T-60C is rated for 62.5W.

Perhaps the Meanwell TP-75B would be a better choice? It's rated at 75 watts which would give a bit more headroom.
Logged
Elmbeatz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 906


Official E-Mu Addict


WWW
« Reply #29 on: April 18, 2013, 07:10:13 AM »

I see.

Well, I shot 4 of those T40Cs for just a bit of money, so...
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5 Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - Emulator II: Supply Rails and PSU Harness Colour Codes

SEO light theme by © Mustang forums. Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines