E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP - Sound Designer and Editing Samples for EII

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 19, 2024, 03:12:58 AM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Problems registering? Send an email to: EIII @ telenet.be (without the spaces)

+  E-mu Emulator Sampler User Forum for the EIII EII EI and EIII XP
|-+  General Category
| |-+  EII General Discussion
| | |-+  Sound Designer and Editing Samples for EII
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Sound Designer and Editing Samples for EII  (Read 3518 times)
ditabeardmemo

« on: October 30, 2009, 09:21:52 AM »

Hi everyone:

I'm a relative newbie when it comes to using Sound Designer in conjunction with my Emulator II+ HD, in part because my Macintosh SE/30 has been out of commission for much of the year. Now that I'm on the verge of repairing it, however, I have some questions about Sound Designer's capabilities.

I'm very interested in creating custom sample banks for the EII, as I have a huge sample library in .AIF and .WAV format that I've developed over the years. I'd like to find the fastest, most efficient way to convert these samples into EII voices and banks. Up to now, I've been manually sampling sounds into the EII through its quarter-inch input, then editing, truncating and looping them using the front panel controls. This process is tedious at best, and maddening at worst. So my questions are:

1. What is the best way to convert these .wav and .aif files into EII-compatible voices (library disks) or banks?

2. Is it possible to edit and refine the start, end and loop points for samples using Sound Designer, rather than on the EII itself? If so, can (or should) this be done when the samples are still in .wav format, or should it be done after the .wav files have already been converted to an EII-compatible format?